The National Council of Jewish Women (NCJW) is a grassroots organization of volunteers and advocates who turn progressive ideals into action. Inspired by Jewish values, NCJW strives for social justice by improving the quality of life for women, children, and families, and by safeguarding individual rights and freedoms.


Within our society, groups face systemic inequity, injustice and bias based upon identities (including but not limited to race, economic class, age, religion, ability, sexual orientation, and gender) which have been compounded over generations. 

Inspired by the Jewish values of Tikkun Olam (repair the world) and Tzedek, Tzedek Tirdof (justice, justice you shall pursue), National Council of Jewish Women/Cleveland strives to improve the quality of life for all through community engagement, education, and social justice advocacy. 

Volunteers and staff build relationships with community partners and legislators, work toward understanding and addressing the needs of those most affected by inequity, and advocate for justice by uplifting marginalized voices to create change in our community.

Executive Committee

  • Executive Director | Mindi Axner
  • Presidents | Laura Kuntz and Dana Trau
  • President-elect | Marcy Schwartz
  • VP Advocacy & Social Justice | Cyndy Fellenbaum & Wendie Forman
  • VP Community Engagement | Janice Hirshon
  • VP Fund Development | Char Rapoport Nance
  • VP Finance & Treasury | Heather Schlang
  • VP Program & Education | Roberta Herman
  • VP Membership | Lisa Cynamon Mayers
  • Co-VPs Retail Operations | Beth Milstein + Barbara Goldberg
  • Recording Secretary | Stephanie Quaranta
  • Parliamentarian | Ellen Rabb
  • Co-State Policy Advocates | Susan Reis + Karin Schleifer  
  • Appointed | Elaine Geller 


  • Executive Director | Mindi Axner
  • Operations Associate | Alisa Feingold
  • Director of Volunteers, Program & Community | Becky Brouman
  • Director of Communications | Jen Boroff
  • Administrative & Operations Specialist | Lisa Hayzlett
  • Finance Administrator | Lauren Blumenthal
  • Administrative Assistant | Annette Paley
  • Warehouse Manager | Nate Harris
  • Thriftique Showroom Manager | Abbe Froimson
  • Thriftique Showroom Assistant Manager | Karen Morris
  • Thriftique Showroom Assistant Manager | Daria Schneiderman
  • Thriftique Showroom Store & Truck Specialist | John Forbes
  • Warehouse | Marnie Niver
  • Warehouse | Tammy Goldberg

Board of Directors

Beginning first year of 1st two-year term:
Berna Bader
Cheryl Gordon
Yolanda Saunders-Polk
Cynthia Tancer
Laura Tramer

Beginning second year of 1st two-year term:
Kate Brown
Ruth Elliott
Ann Markoff
Jen Tramer
Rena Wertheim

Beginning first year of 2nd two-year term:
Hazel Brown
Ronna Kaplan

Beginning second year of 2nd two-year term:
Tracy Grinstead-Everly
Jodi Jackson
Allison Levine
Barbara Friedman Yaksic

Honorary Director:
Michele Kaminsky

Appointed to Board:
Cindy Glazer


Follow us on social media!

© 2023 National Council of Jewish Women 
26055 Emery Road, Suite L, Warrensville Hts., OH 44128  •  (216) 378-2204